Recreational marijuana in Nevada can only be used in private homes. You can use marijuana on the porch or in the yard of a private home, but you cannot use it in any public space, including casinos, bars, parks and restaurants.
You can carry up to an ounce of marijuana in public as long as you are over the age of 21. You can also keep marijuana in your car, but you cannot use marijuana in a moving vehicle.
Both of the above rules apply even if you are in a Nevada city, town or county that has banned marijuana sales. Cities, towns and counties are allowed to ban marijuana dispensaries, but they cannot ban people from transporting legal recreational and medical marijuana or using it in private homes.
The first-offense fine for public use of marijuana is $600. Using marijuana in a moving vehicle may lead to DUI charges, and Nevada has made enforcement a priority.
Note that smoking marjuana on federal property is illegal, so you run a significant risk if you get caught out in the desert. “Use” also includes edibles and concentrates, and you may be subject to ejection from the premises and a $600 fine if you use these products in restaurants, bars, casinos or public parks.